Man Up!

I’ve been wanting to do a vintage post for a while. I think vintage can be very difficult to do as plus size, due to sizing issues. Bigger sizes can be hard to find, and even if you get that far, a size 20 of today is very different to a size 20 of 1950 etc, which is why I always recommend trying the garment on, or ensuring you can return it if you’re buying online.

I have a few tips and tricks to make vintage work as a plus size girl.

As a fan of the androgynous look, I find an easy way to do vintage, is to do men’s vintage! I don’t know how some people feel about actually wearing men’s clothes, but it doesn’t bother me in the slightest. If you’re bothered about people being able to tell, trust me, they can’t tell. Men’s sizes tend to run a lot bigger than female’s typically. I find as a size 18-20 I can comfortably wear a men’s XL, if you wanted a baggy look go for XXL these sizes are more common in vintage than you would think. Another perk of buying men’s vintage, is that it tends to be a bit cheaper, sometimes, a lot cheaper.

Everyone knows men’s shirts are super sexy on women. You could wear a mans shirt just with leggings, or over tights with a short. sexy skirt to make it more feminine. Another way to make it more feminine is to button it only half way down and knot the ends with a high waisted skirt/shorts – gorgeous in summer!

I have a ridiculous amount of vintage men’s shirts, this is my favourite, from the 80’s.

20130225-085244.jpg

20130225-085507.jpg

20130225-085726.jpg

20130225-085548.jpg

I intended this post to be a big, substantial post covering all areas of vintage but there was just too much to cover so this is now the first part of of series! Which I am very excited about 🙂

Shirt – Leeds Vintage Fair – £8

