Body confidence week- day two

Day two of body confidence week is ‘your favourite picture of yourself’.

Now, I’m mega vain. So this was hard! The amount of selfies I have, from different times, with different hairstyles. Because this was my perception of the brief. Aesthetic. I immediately thought of ‘the picture in which I look most attractive’. Not ‘the picture of me volunteering in Cambodia’ – (which I didn’t do, fyi). Does this mean I’m obsessed with my appearance? Because I thought of the superficial first? Maybe it does. I always like to look the best I can. I like to be the very best version of myself, in every way.

There are so many pictures I love of myself, for different reasons, some because I look impossibly happy, some because I look impossibly gorgeous and some because I look impossibly proud etc etc.

I decided to pick the photo I would currently consider to be my favourite photo of myself. This is also the photo which inspired the organiser of this ‘event’ (event?!).

I love this photo because I look brave
I love this photo because I look happy
I love this photo because it is less posed than others
I love this photo because you can see my belly
I love this photo because I know how I felt in that moment
I love this photo because it represents a shift in my life for my mind, attitude and body.

It is a photo of my in my first ever bodycon dress.

It is a photo of the culmination of 24 years of my ‘fuck you’ attitude.

This photo got 41 likes on my fb page. (More than any other, ever)

This photo prompted 4 personal texts of admiration from very close male friends.

This photo carried the caption ‘if you having image problems I feel bad for you son, I got 99 problems but my body ain’t one’

This photo is pride.

This photo is power.

This photo is confidence.

Own it.

20140107-172821.jpg

